
















Public Safety Officers Tax Credit – Frequently Asked Questions 

What is the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit? 

The Public Safety Officers Tax Credit offers a credit against the Baltimore City real property tax imposed on the 

principal residences of sworn public safety officers serving full time in the Baltimore City Police Department, 

Baltimore City Fire Department, or the Baltimore City Sheriff’s Office.  

What is the credit amount? 

The credit is the lesser amount of $2,500 and the Baltimore City real property tax imposed on the eligible real 

property for each taxable year that the property remains eligible.  

For example, if the eligible property is assessed for $100,000, the Baltimore City property tax imposed is $2,248. 

As the tax imposed is less than $2,500, the credit amount is $2,248, which is equal to the total city property tax 

liability.  

What is the credit term? 

The credit can be renewed every taxable year provided that the eligibility requirements continue to be met AND 

the credit recipient submits the Annual Eligibility Verification (AEV) form prior to April 1st of the calendar year in 

which the renewal is sought.  

How do I know if I’m eligible for this credit? 

In order to be eligible for this credit, the applicant must: 

1. Be a qualifying Public Safety Officer; as defined by Section 10‐21 to mean a Sworn Law Enforcement 

Officer, Firefighter, or Emergency Medical Technician employed full time by: 

a. The Baltimore City Fire Department; 

b. The Baltimore City Police Department; or 

c. The Baltimore City Sheriff’s Office. 

2. Own a dwelling located in Baltimore City and use said dwelling as his or her principal residence; and 

3. Be otherwise eligible in all respects for the tax credit authorized by the State Tax‐Property Article, 

Section 9‐105 (“Homestead Tax Credit”). 

How do I know if my property is eligible for the Homestead Tax Credit (#3 above)? 

Your property is eligible if: 

 The property was not transferred for value during the tax year prior to the tax year in which the credit is 

sought; and 

 The property was the owner’s principal residence and the owner lived in it for at least six months of the 

calendar year in which the credit is to be awarded, including July 1 of the year for which the credit is 

applicable. 

For more information about the Homestead Tax Credit, please visit 

http://dat.maryland.gov/realproperty/Pages/Maryland‐Homestead‐Tax‐Credit.aspx  

 

 

What is the Homestead Tax Credit? 



The Homestead Tax Credit is designed to help homeowners deal with large assessment increases on their 

principal residence. In Baltimore City, the credit is granted for any assessment increase exceeding 4% from one 

year to the next. The credit is calculated based on the 10% limit for purposes of the State real property tax, and 

4% for purposes of Baltimore City real property taxes. In other words, the homeowner pays no property tax on 

the market value increase which is above those limits. 

For more information about the Homestead Tax Credit, please visit 

http://dat.maryland.gov/realproperty/Pages/Maryland‐Homestead‐Tax‐Credit.aspx  

Do I need to apply for the Homestead Tax Credit in order to apply for the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit? 

No. To be eligible for the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit, the property must only be eligible for the Homestead 

Tax Credit. We strongly encourage you to apply for the Homestead Tax Credit because it is a relatively simple 

process that can prove very beneficial for homeowners over the period of time that they own their home. 

However, it is not a requirement of the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit.  

I’d like to apply for the Homestead Tax Credit. How do I apply? 

There are multiple ways to apply for the Homestead Tax Credit. For more information, please visit 

http://dat.maryland.gov/realproperty/Pages/Maryland‐Homestead‐Tax‐Credit.aspx 

I occupy my home as my principal residence. How do I confirm this prior to applying for the Public Safety 

Officers Tax Credit? 

Principal residency is determined by the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT). To look up the 

residency status of your property, please visit https://sdat.dat.maryland.gov/RealProperty/Pages/default.aspx  

and enter your property information in the search tool. The principal residence indicator is displayed in the 

upper‐right section of the summary page. 

My home is not listed as my principal residence on the SDAT page. How do I update that information? 

Please contact SDAT’s Baltimore City office at 410‐767‐8250 and request an update to that indicator.  

I meet all the eligibility criteria for the Public Safety Officers Tax Credit. How do I apply? 

The application will be available beginning on March 1st through the Baltimore City Tax Credit Application 

System: 

https://propertytaxcredits.baltimorecity.gov/PropertyTaxCredits/  

Once completed, the application can be submitted via the same online system.  There is no hard copy of the 

application.  

Step #1: Click “Register” on the Tax Credit System homepage to create a unique user login.  

Step #2: Enter your contact information in the appropriate fields. Your password must be at least 8 characters 

and contain at least 1 number. Once complete, click “Create User” to register.  

Please note: the Department of Finance will update you via email on the status of your application. It is very 

important that the email associated with your account is current and one that you use regularly.  

Step #3: Once your account has been successfully created, click “Here” to proceed to the login page. Enter your 

newly created username and password in the login fields. Click “Log In”. 

Step #4: Click “Applications” on the left‐side menu. Click “Create Application” from the menu dropdown.  



Step #5: On the “Create a New Application” page, click the “Select Application Type” dropdown and select 

“PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICERS TAX CREDIT”. Select “Create a New Application” to start your application.  

The application asks for the property transfer date. Where do I find this? 

The transfer date is the date of settlement/closing. You can find this on your Closing Disclosures form that you 

received at settlement/closing.  

The application asks for my Employee ID number. Where do I find this? 

The Employee ID number can be found on your paycheck. If you cannot locate this number on your paycheck, 

please contact your Agency’s Human Resources Coordinator.  

Is there a deadline to apply for this credit? 

Yes, applications must be submitted online by April 1st of the calendar year in which the credit is initially sought.  

Do I need to reapply every year? 

The credit does not automatically renew every year. The applicant must submit the Annual Eligibility Verification 

(AEV) form prior to April 1st each year. This must be done online using the same application system the applicant 

used to submit their initial application. Failure to submit the AEV by April 1st will result in a loss of the credit for 

that year. The applicant can reapply in the following year.  

My application was rejected. Can I reapply right away? 

No. If your application was rejected you cannot reapply in the same taxable year. If you later become eligible for 

this credit you may apply in subsequent taxable years.  

Can I combine this credit with other Baltimore City property tax credits? 

With the exception of the Targeted Homeowners Tax Credit and the Homestead Tax Credit, the Public Safety 

Officers Tax Credit cannot be combined with any property tax credit provided by the City of Baltimore.  

I have a different Baltimore City property tax credit on my property and I’d rather have the Public Safety 

Officer Tax Credit. What should I do? 

Please email the Department of Finance at tax.credits@baltimorecity.gov.  

I have a question not listed here. Who can I contact? 

Please email any questions to tax.credits@baltimorecity.gov. 
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